Skip to main content


The Tourism Reef Advisory Committee provides advice to the Marine Park Authority Board through the Reef Authority on the management of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.

Appointments to the Tourism Reef Advisory Committees is competency-based, and members are appointed taking into consideration their experience, knowledge, skills, relationships and networks with Reef Traditional Owners or relevant groups or sectors. All Committee members are expected to adopt a broad perspective on Committee business that is raised.

The Reef Authority acknowledges the continuing Sea Country management and custodianship of the Great Barrier Reef by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Traditional Owners whose rich cultures, heritage values, enduring connections and shared efforts protect the Reef for future generations.

At each meeting of the Tourism Reef Advisory Committee, an acknowledgment of Traditional Owners will occur before meeting business.


  • The Committee's purpose is to provide objective advice, insights and recommendations on:
  • Legislative, policy, and guideline review and development, directly related to the management of the Marine Park
  • Strategic plans and programs that give effect to the objects of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act 1975
  • Actions that can be taken to address risks to the Marine Park are identified in the Great Barrier Reef Outlook Report (released by the Reef Authority every five years); and
  • Emerging or unfamiliar issues occurring within the Marine Park and the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area.
  • The Tourism Reef Advisory Committee is not decision making body.  Advice and recommendations provided to the Marine Park Authority Board are non-binding.

Tourism Reef Advisory Committee Charter of Operation

Tourism Reef Advisory Committee Members

The Tourism Reef Advisory Committee is a competency-based committee with members providing a cross-section of stakeholder expertise and interests in areas relevant to tourism on the Great Barrier Reef.

  • Mr Daniel Gschwind (Tourism Reef Advisory Committee Chairperson) - Board director, including Tourism Whitsundays and Reef and Rainforest Research Centre, tourism business experience and acumen state-wide, nationally and internationally.

  • Mr David Boyd - Island resorts, large multifaceted tourism business operations – Townsville/Whitsundays Management Area.

  • Mr Tony Charters - Ecotourism, environmental education and recreation programs. Tourism research, policy and strategic planning. Tourism certification and quality assurance.

  • Mr Travis Clarke - Large multifaceted marine tourism management including pontoon operations. Cairns/Cooktown Management Area.

  • Ms Jan Claxton - Owner operator, high standard ecotourism operations – Cairns/Cooktown Management Area and Townsville/Whitsundays Management Area.

  • Dr Terrence Cummins - Sustainable business management, particularly scuba and snorkeling tourism – Cairns and Far Northern Management Areas.

  • Captain Mike Drake - Cruise ship operations – Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and internationally.

  • Ms Jenny Edmondson - Owner operator, high standard tourism operator, research and coral planting - Cairns/Cooktown management area.

  • Mr Peter Gash - Commonwealth Island ecotourism operations – Mackay/Capricorn Management Area.

  • Mr Jeff Gillies - Director large global expedition cruise operator, regional tourism body director. Queensland wide management area.

  • Ms Chrissy Grant - Aboriginal (Kuku Yalanji from the Jalunji-Warra clan) and Torres Strait Islander (Mualgal from Kubin on Moa Island) Elder. Cultural and natural resource management, particularly heritage management, conservation and protection.

  • Ms Stephanie Hinks - Owner operator, small personalised tours, Master Reef Guide - Townsville/Whitsundays Management Area.

  • Mr Craig Stephen - Large multifaceted tourism business operations live aboard dive tourism; President CHARROA, GBR/Coral Sea, mooring management – Cairns/Cooktown and Far Northern Management Areas.

  • Mr Jason Moore - Large multifaceted tourism business operations – Cairns/Cooktown Management Area.

  • Mr Gareth Phillips - Association of Marine Park Tourism Operators (AMPTO). Marine tourism business experience and acumen.

  • Mr Trevor Rees - Association of Whitsunday Bareboat Operators. Tourism business owner Whitsunday Management Area.

  • Ms Christabel Warren - Wuthathi Traditional Owner. Bama Connect Consultant – Owner Operator.

Government partners:

  • Ms Gayle OBrien - Tourism policy and industry engagement. Great Barrier Reef Island Resort Rejuvenation Program.

  • Ms Racheal Klitscher - Great Barrier Reef tourism marketing, destination and experience development and major events.

Couple holding hands, walking on a island - Great Barrier Reef  – Australia - © Tourism and Events Queensland
Updated 21 Sep 2023
Was this page helpful?
Your rating will help us improve the website.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.