Skip to main content

Access to Low Isles (situated 15km north-east of Port Douglas) has re-opened. Visitors and tourism operators are advised to approach with caution as the area continues to recover from the impacts of the cyclone and flooding.

While Low Isles is accessible, please note that public toilets remain closed until further notice. 

Visitors are reminded to take extra care when visiting Low Island and stick to the beach and designated paths, and remain alert to potential hazards, including: 

  • Vegetation: Recent damaging winds have left behind hazardous fallen trees and branches. 

  • Marine debris: The shoreline may be affected by marine debris washed up during the weather events. 

  • Altered shoreline conditions: Sand erosion and deposition may have changed the usual shoreline conditions.  

Woody Island remains closed due to seasonal closure from 15 November 2023 to 31 March 2024 to protect nesting birds.

Further information about this closure is available on the Queensland National Parks website   

Always stay aware of your surroundings and be prepared to respond swiftly to potential hazards. 

The Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area encompasses around 1050 islands, including 70 Commonwealth islands (21 of which are managed by the Reef Authority through the Reef Joint Field Management Program) and 980 Queensland islands. 

For alerts related to Queensland island national parks, please refer to Queensland Park alerts. Stay informed about Commonwealth islands by checking our website. 

Your safety is our top priority. We appreciate your cooperation and urge all visitors to Low Isles to exercise caution and visit with care.

Updated 21 Dec 2023
Was this page helpful?
Your rating will help us improve the website.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.